Town Departments

Protecting the health, safety and welfare of residents of the Town of Clinton, and planning for and managing portions of town property, shall be accomplished through the administrative departments under the Town Manager's direction:

Administration / Town Manager: Responsible to the Board of Selectmen for the effective administration of all Town affairs placed in the Town Manager's charge, by laws of the State of Maine, the Town charter, adopted ordinance, and Board resolutions. Staff members include the Town Manager.

Assessor AgentResponsible for assessing all properties for the purpose of taxation.


Code Enforcement Officer:  Responsible for issuing land use and construction permits, building and zoning inspection, and enforcing all state and local land-use / building codes in town. 

Town Clerk and Tax Collection: Responsible for the collection of both excise and property taxes, election administration, general assistance, hunting and fishing licenses, notary services, vital statistics. Staff members include the Town Clerk/ Tax Collector, two Deputy Town Clerks.

Highway Department: Working with the Road Commissioner (Town Manager) responsible for the town's roadways, stormwater management, coordination and oversight of all road projects and snowplowing contract.

Library: Responsible for the operation of the Brown Memorial Library. Staff members include Library Director and Assistant Librarian.

Solid Waste Transfer and Recycling Department: Responsible for the oversight and coordination of the Clinton / Benton transfer Station that facilitates the solid waste disposal and recycling for Clinton and Benton residents.

Fire and Rescue Department: Responsible for protecting and saving lives and property from fire. Responding to emergency scenes with Emergency Medical Technicians and providing transport to hospitals as required. Staff members include Fire Chief, Emergency Medical Technicians, Firemen and Emergency Management Director.

Police Department: Responsible for the emergency and non-emergency public safety service to the community. Staff members include Police Chief, Three Full Time Police Officers, five Reserve Officers, K9 Wrex and Animal Control Officer.